---
title: The Discharge Reconciliation Workflow in Profile
slug: portal-sub/the-discharge-reconciliation-workflow-in-profile
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-03-04T12:03:17.931Z
---

# Article Overview & Feature Requirements

This article gives the high-level workflow for the Discharge Reconciliation feature in Profile. 

Details of how to perform each of the steps in the workflow are given in each of the articles linked.

## Feature Requirements

- The Discharge Reconciliation feature is available in Profile version 10.0.8 and above.
- MedChart should be enabled by adding the Medications licensed module.
- In order to perform certain actions, specified roles need to be enabled by an Administrator, as described in [Enable and Disable Discharge Reconciliation Actions in Profile](docId\:YYC5Bqk-UoD9HujA_SSQI).  

# The Discharge Reconciliation Workflow in Profile

The workflow steps that a Clinician or Clinical Administrator performs for Discharge Reconciliation are as follows:

1. [Load MedChart to Discharge Reconciliation View in Profile](docId\:WeTqGnlcPXVu8uzxYKVoi)In this step, prescribed medications are copied from the MedChart view to the Discharge Reconciliation view.
2. [Edit Discharge Reconciliation Medication List in Profile](docId:5yuqihYLbKiRPv3m_OwUq)In this step, the list of medications loaded into the Discharge Reconciliation view can be edited. You can add, delete or edit individual items.
3. [Sign Discharge Medications and Load to Usual Scripts in Profile](docId:2GTQnXGSGNS4mK86_sdxa)In this step, discharge medications are signed, and copied into the Usual Scripts view in Profile, where they can be prescribed in the usual manner for outpatients.
4. [Print Discharge Medication Summary Report in Profile](docId\:FbVL8_OX1CSpDi4nNARyH)In this step, a summary report of all discharge medications allocated to the patient can be printed and provided to the patient.
5. [Close and Archive MedChart Record in Profile](docId\:wZv2pv-R17U4E-ALza_FA)In this step, since medications no longer need to be prescribed in MedChart, the current MedChart record is closed and archived.
6. [Close and Archive Discharge Reconciliation Record in Profile](docId\:piX9iy0GEMwUzZxKGWYtZ)In this step, after the patient has been discharged from the in-patient facility, the current Discharge Reconciliation record is closed and archived. 

Details of how to perform each of these steps are given in each of the articles linked above.

# Learn More

If you would like to learn more about Discharge Reconciliation please read some of our other articles by clicking on the links below:

- [Discharge Reconciliation in Profile](docId\:MTIsOs5uL0pHi5OCvLl7H)
- [Enable and Disable Discharge Reconciliation Actions in Profile](docId\:YYC5Bqk-UoD9HujA_SSQI)
- [Load MedChart to Discharge Reconciliation View in Profile](docId\:WeTqGnlcPXVu8uzxYKVoi)
- [Edit Discharge Reconciliation Medication List in Profile](docId:5yuqihYLbKiRPv3m_OwUq)
- [Sign Discharge Medications and Load to Usual Scripts in Profile](docId:2GTQnXGSGNS4mK86_sdxa)
- [Print Discharge Medication Summary Report in Profile](docId\:FbVL8_OX1CSpDi4nNARyH)
- [Close and Archive MedChart Record in Profile](docId\:wZv2pv-R17U4E-ALza_FA)
- [Close and Archive Discharge Reconciliation Record in Profile](docId\:piX9iy0GEMwUzZxKGWYtZ)
- [FAQs: Discharge Reconciliation in Profile](docId\:lUYuV5GrITQKoAM7Z7xAA)
