How to Manage Patient Registration with a Provider in Ontario
7 min
overview & requirements this article covers the following aspects of patient registration with a provider in ontario, canada configuration docid\ rthusehfextznyrmwcynzregistering/deregistering patients docid\ rthusehfextznyrmwcynzviewing a patient's registration history docid\ rthusehfextznyrmwcynz requirements this functionality applies to profile 10 0 6 and later this applies only in the province of ontario, canada managing patient registration with a provider in ontario configuration in order to be able to manage patient registration for patients with providers in ontario, canada, this needs to be enabled in patient preferences by default, it is enabled however, you can check the configuration as follows go to organisation/preferences/general/patient click on the patient status & select tab ensure that the show update status window on registering/unregistering patient checkbox is selected in order to manage patient registration for patients with providers in ontario registering/deregistering patients if the above configuration has been set up, patients can be registered/deregistered with providers in ontario as follows registering a patient go to alter patient for the patient you wish to register under the general tab, locate the registered field if the patient has never been registered, this field is set to "no" with the word "never" alongside, and the field below it is empty to register, select "yes" from the dropdown list and click apply this opens up the update status window for the patient click the " " button to browse for and select the provider with whom to register the patient click ok to save the patient registration change the registered field in the alter patient window is set to "yes", the date of registration appears alongside, and the provider with whom they have been registered appears in the field below note that the provider with whom they are registered does not have to be the same as their primary care provider (listed next to provider higher up) deregistering a patient go to alter patient for the patient you wish to deregister under the general tab, locate the registered field to deregister the patient, select "no" from the dropdown list and click apply an update status window appears confirming the changes choose a reason for deregistration from the reason dropdown list this field is mandatory for deregistration then, click ok to save the patient deregistration viewing a patient's registration history go to alter patient for the patient whose registration history you wish to view go to registrations this shows all past and current registration changes relating to the patient