---
title: Global, Individual, and Role-Based Preferences
slug: portal-sub/global-individual-and-role-based-preferences
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-03-04T12:03:22.982Z
---

There are many ways to customise the behaviour and appearance of the Profile system. Of the hundreds of preference settings, some apply to individuals, others to role groups, and still others to the system as a whole.

## Global Preferences

Some preferences are global and apply to all users. These can only be changed if the 'Set Global Preferences' action is granted for the logged user's role, in which case they appear in blue font if enabled. For users that do not have the above action granted, these preferences will appear greyed-out and disabled. 

## Individual or Role-based Preferences

Preferences that are not global to all users appear in standard black font. These preferences can apply to either a single individual or to all members of a role, depending on 2 configurations:

1. The Global Preference **Role or individual preference precedence is set** in **Preferences / General / General / Other tab&#xA0;**&#x63;an be set to.**globally to individual** - All users and providers will have preferences, filters, and toolbars individually configured.**globally to role** - All users and providers will have preferences, filters, and toolbars configured based on their Top Role.**to-used-based individual/role&#xA0;**- Each user and provider can be individually configured to either have preferences, filters, and toolbars defined to Individual or Role.

::Image[]{src="https://api.qa.archbee.co/api/optimize/zICxj0dnLereb6UUrBA3-/nwsRYhbRQfUC2aNAf1RCV_rdljtwvxj6za5tkvu-nwfiu2vuoa3crhq.png" size="100" isUploading="false" initialPath="assets/rdLjtWvxJ6ZA5TKVU-Nwfiu2vu_oA3cRHQ.png" githubPath="en/User Management and Settings/User Settings/assets/rdLjtWvxJ6ZA5TKVU-Nwfiu2vu_oA3cRHQ.png" position="flex-start" showCaption="false" indent="2"}

2. If the above preference is set as **to user-based individual/role**, each user and provider's **Role Precedence** can be configured to either **Individual&#xA0;**&#x6F;r **Role&#xA0;**&#x69;n **Organization / People & Places / Open User or Provider / Special&#xA0;**&#x74;ab.

::Image[]{src="https://api.qa.archbee.co/api/optimize/zICxj0dnLereb6UUrBA3-/T1DdyImras70UYM7EvfC7_m53cla23vjjp7bjsty4aotpk5cpwzdb5yg.png" size="100" isUploading="false" initialPath="assets/M53cla23vjJp7bJSty4aoTPK5cpWZdB5Yg.png" githubPath="en/User Management and Settings/User Settings/assets/M53cla23vjJp7bJSty4aoTPK5cpWZdB5Yg.png" position="flex-start" showCaption="false" indent="2"}

## Top Role Override

In some cases, users or providers may have different roles at different Places of Service, necessitating different preferences, filters, and toolbars when working at that Place of Service. This can be configured in  **Organization / People & Places / Open User or Provider / Member Of&#xA0;**&#x74;ab. For each Place of Service that the user or provider is a member of, the Top Role Override can be configured to select one of their Roles as the top role when working at this Place of Service.

![](https://api.qa.archbee.co/api/optimize/zICxj0dnLereb6UUrBA3-/-Ut0S6AYzGcEkx5WSsgyS_9im0mxzavga90nipr2jmz4vf360mzopga.png)
