---
title: FAQs: Discharge Reconciliation in Profile
slug: portal-sub/faqs-discharge-reconciliation-in-profile
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-03-04T12:03:17.891Z
---

# FAQ: Quick Links

**TABLE OF CONTENTS: FAQs**

- [Included/Excluded Actions](docId\:lUYuV5GrITQKoAM7Z7xAA)
  - [Is the Hold Action included in Discharge Reconciliation? ](docId\:lUYuV5GrITQKoAM7Z7xAA)
  - [Is the Discontinue Action included in Discharge Reconciliation?](docId\:lUYuV5GrITQKoAM7Z7xAA)
- [Updates to Lists of Medications](docId\:lUYuV5GrITQKoAM7Z7xAA)
  - [What is the process if new discharge medications are added after the discharge medications summary has already been signed? ](docId\:lUYuV5GrITQKoAM7Z7xAA)
  - [What is the process if updates are made to the MedChart list after it has already been loaded into the Discharge Reconciliation view?](docId\:lUYuV5GrITQKoAM7Z7xAA)

# Frequently Asked Questions

## Included/Excluded Actions

### Is the Hold Action included in Discharge Reconciliation? 

The Hold action is **not supported** in the Discharge Medication Reconciliation workflow. The discharge medication list is intended to represent a finalized set of active medications that the patient will continue upon discharge or transfer. Any medications that should not be continued must be explicitly removed from the discharge list rather than marked as held.

### Is the Discontinue Action included in Discharge Reconciliation?

The Discontinue action is **not supported** in the Discharge Medication Reconciliation workflow. Since the discharge list is a new and clean list of medications intended for the patient post-discharge, only active medications should be included. Any medications not intended for continuation must be excluded or deleted from the list altogether.

***

## Updates to Lists of Medications

### What is the process if new discharge medications are added after the discharge medications summary has already been signed? 

Once the discharge medications summary in the **Discharge Reconciliations** view has been signed, any subsequent additions or modifications to the discharge medication list require the summary to be re-signed. Upon re-signing, the discharge medications are uploaded to **Usual Scripts**, and the provider performing the re-sign is recorded as the **Signed By** for all discharge medications.

### What is the process if updates are made to the MedChart list after it has already been loaded into the Discharge Reconciliation view?

If any medications are added to the list in the **MedChart&#xA0;**&#x76;iew after the discharge process has begun, they must be manually added to the list in the **Discharge Reconciliation&#xA0;**&#x76;iew. Alternatively, the list in the **Discharge Reconciliation&#xA0;**&#x76;iew can be cleared entirely, and the process restarted using the **Load to Discharge&#xA0;**&#x66;unction to pull in the updated MedChart entries.

***

# Learn More

Click on the following links to read more about the Discharge Reconciliation feature in Profile.

- [Discharge Reconciliation in Profile](docId\:MTIsOs5uL0pHi5OCvLl7H)
- [The Discharge Reconciliation Workflow in Profile](docId\:z7wb0dsgEcs9DQAgUGJ1e)
- [Enable and Disable Discharge Reconciliation Actions in Profile](docId\:YYC5Bqk-UoD9HujA_SSQI)
- [Load MedChart to Discharge Reconciliation View in Profile](docId\:WeTqGnlcPXVu8uzxYKVoi)
- [Edit Discharge Reconciliation Medication List in Profile](docId:5yuqihYLbKiRPv3m_OwUq)
- [Sign Discharge Medications and Load to Usual Scripts in Profile](docId:2GTQnXGSGNS4mK86_sdxa)
- [Print Discharge Medication Summary Report in Profile](docId\:FbVL8_OX1CSpDi4nNARyH)
- [Close and Archive MedChart Record in Profile](docId\:wZv2pv-R17U4E-ALza_FA)
- [Close and Archive Discharge Reconciliation Record in Profile](docId\:piX9iy0GEMwUzZxKGWYtZ)
