---
title: Enable and Disable Discharge Reconciliation Actions in Profile
slug: portal-sub/enable-and-disable-discharge-reconciliation-actions-in-profile
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-03-04T12:03:17.885Z
---

# Article Overview & Feature Requirements

The Discharge Reconciliation view within the Medications module is enabled for everyone. However, some actions that are part of the Discharge Reconciliation workflow require specific roles to be granted to the user.

This article explains how Administrators can grant or revoke roles that enable these actions relating to the Discharge Reconciliation, so that the designated users can manage prescribed discharge medications.

It is up to Administrators granting these roles to determine which users should be granted which actions, in accordance with their internal clinical workflows and security requirements.

## Feature Requirements

- Profile version 10.0.8 or higher
- MedChart should be enabled by adding the Medications licensed module.
- Administrative access to Roles in Profile

# Enabling Discharge Reconciliation Actions

::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
Select **Organisation/People and Places**.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Select the user to be granted roles for Discharge Reconciliation.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Select the **Roles&#xA0;**&#x76;iew.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Navigate to the **Licensed: In-Patient MedChart&#xA0;**&#x73;ection.

![](https://api.qa.archbee.co/api/optimize/zICxj0dnLereb6UUrBA3-/GmRczEzmkfSJG_sX0pD7A_7odzbtdwuuswur5mckoabq5ab4iyyk6hg.png)
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Grant or revoke the following roles for the user, as applicable:

- **Load MedChart to Discharge Reconciliation**
  This allows the user to [load medications into the Discharge Reconciliation view from the MedChart view](docId\:WeTqGnlcPXVu8uzxYKVoi).
- **Sign Discharge Medication/Load to Usual Scripts**
  This allows the user to[ sign off on discharge medications and load the medications into the Usual Scripts view](docId:2GTQnXGSGNS4mK86_sdxa). This role should be granted *only* to users with prescribing authority.
- **Close MedChart Record**
  This allows the user to [close and archive the current MedChart record](docId\:wZv2pv-R17U4E-ALza_FA), once medications no longer need to be prescribed in MedChart.
- **Close Discharge Reconciliation Record**
  This allows the user to [close and archive the current Discharge Reconciliation record](docId\:piX9iy0GEMwUzZxKGWYtZ), after the patient has been discharged from the in-patient facility.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click **OK&#xA0;**&#x74;o save.
:::
::::

# Learn More

For more information on Discharge Reconciliation, please click on the article links below:

- [Discharge Reconciliation in Profile](docId\:MTIsOs5uL0pHi5OCvLl7H)
- [The Discharge Reconciliation Workflow in Profile](docId\:z7wb0dsgEcs9DQAgUGJ1e)
- [Load MedChart to Discharge Reconciliation View in Profile](docId\:WeTqGnlcPXVu8uzxYKVoi)
- [Edit Discharge Reconciliation Medication List in Profile](docId:5yuqihYLbKiRPv3m_OwUq)
- [Sign Discharge Medications and Load to Usual Scripts in Profile](docId:2GTQnXGSGNS4mK86_sdxa)
- [Print Discharge Medication Summary Report in Profile](docId\:FbVL8_OX1CSpDi4nNARyH)
- [Close and Archive MedChart Record in Profile](docId\:wZv2pv-R17U4E-ALza_FA)
- [Close and Archive Discharge Reconciliation Record in Profile](docId\:piX9iy0GEMwUzZxKGWYtZ)
- [FAQs: Discharge Reconciliation in Profile](docId\:lUYuV5GrITQKoAM7Z7xAA)
