---
title: Close and Archive MedChart Record in Profile
slug: portal-sub/close-and-archive-medchart-record-in-profile
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-03-04T12:03:17.867Z
---

# Article Overview & Feature Requirements

This article covers the action a Clinician or Administrator takes to close and archive a MedChart Record.

## Feature Requirements

- Profile version 10.0.8 or higher
- MedChart should be enabled by adding the Medications licensed module.
- Role granted: **Close MedChart Record&#xA0;**&#xA;(See [Enable and Disable Discharge Reconciliation Actions in Profile](docId\:YYC5Bqk-UoD9HujA_SSQI) for instructions on how an Administrator would grant this role.)
- Where applicable, medications have been [loaded from the MedChart view into the Discharge Reconciliations view](docId\:WeTqGnlcPXVu8uzxYKVoi).

# Close and Archive MedChart Record

## Steps

To close and archive the MedChart Record:

1. Open up the Medical Record for the applicable patient.
2. Select **MedChart&#xA0;**&#x6F;n the left-hand side. The MedChart view is selected by default.
3. Click **Close MedChart**.

::Image[]{src="https://api.qa.archbee.co/api/optimize/zICxj0dnLereb6UUrBA3-/XPCumTP2W1P_xaubT7yQV_4le3yqayla3wmizc5jxsbwwvcq7idowa.png" size="100" isUploading="false" initialPath="assets/4LE3YQaY_La3wmizC5_jXSbWwvCQ7iDoWA.png" githubPath="en/Medication Management/Inpatient Medications/Discharge Reconciliation/assets/4LE3YQaY_La3wmizC5_jXSbWwvCQ7iDoWA.png" position="flex-start" showCaption="false" indent="2"}

4. You will be asked to confirm whether you want to close and archive the patient's MedChart Record. If you are ready to do so, click **OK**.

::Image[]{src="https://api.qa.archbee.co/api/optimize/zICxj0dnLereb6UUrBA3-/e9JLT0FU1FDlmovtm0BeG_sazbgakphyakbrbjjclw0f-yop9jpwo8g.png" size="65" isUploading="false" initialPath="assets/sAZ_BGAkPHYakBrBjJCLw0F-YOP9jpwO8g.png" githubPath="en/Medication Management/Inpatient Medications/Discharge Reconciliation/assets/sAZ_BGAkPHYakBrBjJCLw0F-YOP9jpwO8g.png" position="flex-start" showCaption="false" indent="2"}

## Result

This action closes the MedChart Record. The MedChart medication list is removed and archived for future review.

All MedChart prescriptions are now considered ‘closed’ and are hidden from MedChart view, which now appears empty.

![](https://api.qa.archbee.co/api/optimize/zICxj0dnLereb6UUrBA3-/DQ29UqALdyeTeM_cwrhbX_wtdxvaaxtvlbo9yb21buoaaa3fsenhnwa.png)

Further, all Careflow administrations from this chart are terminated. This is because, once the MedChart record has been closed, it effectively finalizes or locks the related administration schedule. A closed MedChart is treated as no longer active, so the CareFlow timeline (which displays scheduled and due medication administrations) excludes any medication items from that closed chart.

# What's Next?

You can now [Close and Archive the Discharge Reconciliation Record](docId\:piX9iy0GEMwUzZxKGWYtZ).

# Learn More

For more information on the Discharge Reconciliation feature,please click on the article links below:

- [Discharge Reconciliation in Profile](docId\:MTIsOs5uL0pHi5OCvLl7H)
- [The Discharge Reconciliation Workflow in Profile](docId\:z7wb0dsgEcs9DQAgUGJ1e)
- [Enable and Disable Discharge Reconciliation Actions in Profile](docId\:YYC5Bqk-UoD9HujA_SSQI)
- [Load MedChart to Discharge Reconciliation View in Profile](docId\:WeTqGnlcPXVu8uzxYKVoi)
- [Edit Discharge Reconciliation Medication List in Profile](docId:5yuqihYLbKiRPv3m_OwUq)
- [Sign Discharge Medications and Load to Usual Scripts in Profile](docId:2GTQnXGSGNS4mK86_sdxa)
- [Print Discharge Medication Summary Report in Profile](docId\:FbVL8_OX1CSpDi4nNARyH)
- [Close and Archive Discharge Reconciliation Record in Profile](docId\:piX9iy0GEMwUzZxKGWYtZ)
- [FAQs: Discharge Reconciliation in Profile](docId\:lUYuV5GrITQKoAM7Z7xAA)
